Motherland cantada numa escola para cegos

Nathalie Merchant canta em show na Perkins School, instituição educacional para cegos com uma longa tradição nos Estados Unidos. Nathalie, além de ser uma cantora fantástica, engaja-se em causas sociais. Educação é uma de suas praias.

Na canção, Motherland, a cantora é acompanhada por um trio de músicos da Perkins School. Repare na belíssima voz do menino que com ela faz dueto.

Segue letra da música para quem quiser treinar um pouco de listening:

Where in the hell can you go far from the things that you know
Far from the sprawl of concrete that keeps crawling its way about 1,000 miles a day?
Take one last look behind, commit this to memory and mind.
Don’t miss this wasteland, this terrible place.
When you leave keep your heart off your sleeve.

Motherland cradle me, close my eyes, lullaby me to sleep.
Keep me safe, lie with me, stay beside me don’t go.
Don’t you go.
Oh, my five & dime queen tell me what have you seen?
The lust and the avarice, the bottomless, cavernous greed, is that what you see?

Motherland cradle me, close my eyes, lullaby me to sleep.
Keep me safe, lie with me, stay beside me don’t go.

It’s your happiness I want most of all and for that I’d do anything at all, oh mercy me!
If you want the best of it or the most of all, if there’s anything I can do at all.

Now come on shot gun bride what makes me envy your life?
Faceless, nameless, innocent, blameless and free, what’s that like to be?

Motherland cradle me, close my eyes, lullaby me to sleep.
Keep me safe, lie with me, stay beside me don’t go.
Don’t go.

2 Respostas to “Motherland cantada numa escola para cegos”

  1. Antonio Morales Says:

    Jarbas,
    Uma bela canção. Bela voz do menino. òtimos músicos. E veja: uma ótima cantora envolvida com educação e causas sociais. Considerada esquerdista. Não é por acaso que para nós aqui era uma completa desconhecida.

  2. Neusa Goys Says:

    Linda a canção e interpretações. Emocionante trabalho!!!

Deixe um comentário

